Teaching in Reception is based on the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum; the curriculum in Years 1 and 2 is based on the National Curriculum for Key Stage 1. Teaching and learning is enhanced by a wide variety of interesting trips and visits which take place on a regular basis.


The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum emphasises exploration, investigation, discovery and problem solving. Activities are planned which closely match each child’s individual interests. We take into account their preferred learning styles, carefully observe children’s play and plan stimulating, enjoyable activities which provide opportunities for further learning around this. We believe that children learn best through first-hand experiences which are sensitively ‘scaffolded’ by experienced and well-qualified staff; thought-provoking questions posed at the appropriate time foster deeper thinking skills, embed learning and begin to develop and challenge an enquiring mind.

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum is based on the following seven areas of learning:

  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design 

Years 1 and 2

At Clifton High School we offer the full Key Stage 1 Curriculum delivered by outstanding teachers using our excellent facilities. Our teaching is compliant with the National Curriculum but we are not limited by it. We regularly review and modify our teaching in light of changes in educational thinking and practice to ensure we maintain a broad and balanced approach, allowing our boys and girls to discover and develop every talent.

The curriculum for Years 1 and 2 is based on the following areas of learning:

  • English and Drama
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Theme (Geography and History)
  • Art and Design Technology
  • Music
  • Physical Education
  • Personal, Social, Health and Citizenship Education (PSHCE)
  • Religious Education
  • Information and Communication Technology
  • Modern Foreign Languages